Planning Commission

Press Enter to show all options, press Tab go to next option


2017 Planning Commission 

 Victor Yoo, Chair
 Robert Medawar, Vice Chair
 Bridget Carman
 Robert Schachter
 Tim Scott
 Tim Thomas
 Tim Zigrang

The Planning Commission acts in an advisory capacity to the City Council and strives to preserve  and enhance the City’s unique character by reviewing and regulating developmental proposals and by periodically updating the General Plan. The Commission also reviews and approves requests for other planning permits including zone changes, variances, neighborhood compatibility and precise plans of design for residential remodels, new residential and commercial development.

Upon recommendation of the Mayor and appointment by the Council, seven residents of the City serve as volunteers on the Planning each commission. In all cases, their actions are subject to review and final approval by the City Council. Each year, the City Council may appoint new Commissioners if a vacancy exists.  Interested residents may submit their application to Hope Nolan, Deputy City Clerk, at (310) 377-1577, ext. 102 or at                          APPLICATION [PDF]

Meeting Times: Regular meetings are held in the Council Chambers at 7:00 p.m. the FIRST MONDAY of each month.

Qualifications: Each of the Commissioners must be a resident of the City and is appointed by and serve at the pleasure of the City Council.  Members of the Planning Commission may not serve the City Council nor on another City Commission simultaneously. Commissioners may not be City of Rolling Hills Estates employees.

Compensation:  No compensation is provided to City Commissioners

Correspondence: Written correspondence to  the Planning Commission may be forwarded to Planning Director, David Wahba.